Skip to content


Winners of the 2101 Vaisala Award

Winners of the 2010 Vaisala Award: (l-r) Adams, Priegnitz, Heinselman, Smith, Manross

OAR 2009 Outstanding Paper Award and 2010 Prof. Dr. Vilho Vaisala Award

Heinselman, P. L., D. Priegnitz, K. Manross, T. Smith, and R. Adams, 2008: Rapid sampling of severe storms by the National Weather Radar Testbed Phased Array RadarWea. Forecasting23, 808–824. (.pdf, 8MB)

Recently Published Papers on Weather Surveillance with Phased-Array Radar

Heinselman, P. L., D. S. LaDue, and H. Lazrus, 2012: Exploring impacts of rapid-scan radar data on NWS warning decisions Wea. Forecasting27, 1031–1044. (.pdf, 2 MB)

Newman, J. F., and P. L. Heinselman, 2012: Evolution of a quasi-linear convective system sampled by phased array radarMon. Wea. Rev., 140, 3467–3486 (.pdf, 7.25 MB)

Heinselman, P. L., and S. M. Torres, 2011: High-temporal resolution capabilities of the National Weather Radar Testbed Phased-array RadarJ. Appl. Meteor. Climatol., 50, 579-593. (.pdf, 4.45MB)

Emersic, C., P. L. Heinselman, D. R. MacGorman, E. C. Bruning, 2011: Electrical activity in a hail-producing storm observed with phased-array radar. Mon. Wea. Rev., in press. (.pdf, 4MB)